AAU is an umbrella Association for urban authorities in Uganda. Founded in 1959 by the then (4) municipalities of Kampala, Jinja, Mbale and Masaka. It was registered on May 19, 2008 as a company limited by guarantee. In 2014, it was registered as a Non-Governmental Organization.

With the advent of rapid urbanization mainly due to rural urban migration coupled with the set in of decentralization processes the Association now has as its members, 11 City Authorities; 25 City Divisions; 31 Municipalities, 587 Town Councils and 91 Municipal Divisions that constitute its membership.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window